Over Medicating

Guess what?  I over medicated last night.  The mood stabilizer — lamotrigine/lamictal.  Woke up really dizzy and nauseated.  Called my psychotherapist then I called my primary care physician who suggested I call the hospital who suggested I call the Poison Control Center who told me I was probably OK but should call my psychiatric nurse practitioner to find out if I need to adjust tonight’s dosage.  My wife suggests I drink a lot of water, which makes sense to me.  But now I have to pee about every 10 minutes.

It was an honest mistake.  One of the tablets was crushed in the bottle.  I looked at it and decided it appeared to be a whole pill so I took it but then I couldn’t remember what else I needed to take.  So, I think I took the usual dose after that which puts me 200mg over the top.

Well, of course, my therapist wonders if I took the extra dosage on purpose.  You know, even though it was an “honest mistake,” I guess I’m not really sure.  So I’m keeping the appointment with my therapist this morning.  Instead of 10am, I’ll see her at 11am, provided I’m not too dizzy to drive.

This is a commitment and promise I made to myself, my wife, and kids.  If I do anything weird, I’ll check it out.  I don’t know if I can trust myself.  I find that’s true for many things.  What does motivate me?  Was it really and accident?  Self-loathing?  Desire for relief from the psychological pain?

Leave a comment